Workshops

Futures Literacy and Creative Writing

Futures literacy asks us to use the future to understand the present, and creative writing, which requires a rigorous understanding of time, place, and character, asks us to articulate our understanding of the world through narratives. When CW and FL are used together in a group setting, we can become more accustomed to using our collective intelligence, narrative capacity, and capacity for reframing to co-create narratives and become futures literate.

The creative writing exercises that will be presented have been used as part of a creative writing course at the University of Guelph offered specifically for students in the sciences. This method moves writers away from thinking of innovation as a linear process and promotes more sustainable mindsets.

Presenter: Sheung-King, Aaron Tang
Date: Saturday, September 18, 2021
Time: 12:00 pm ET ♦ 9:00 am PT ♦ 10:00 am MT ♦ 11:00 am CT ♦ 1:00 pm AT

The Power of a Plan: Outlining Your Novel

“There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.” So said Ernest Hemingway. Sometimes the pain and misery of writing comes from not knowing enough about the stories we’re trying to tell. Terry Fallis will explore the benefits and challenges of outlining your novel before writing it. An inveterate planner, he’ll walk the participants through his own approach to outlining, showing examples and explaining how his process has evolved over the course of seven novels.

There will be a couple of workshop exercises to bring the power of outlining to life, and plenty of discussion. While outlining may not work for you, this session will remind us all of the need to figure out how we write best.

Presenter: Terry Fallis
Date: Saturday, September 18, 2021
Time: 1:15 pm ET ♦ 10:15 am PT ♦ 11:15 am MT  12:15 pm CT |♦ 2:15 pm AT

Your Book as a Business

In this interactive workshop you will learn how to make your book a business.  You will discover how to launch for success, sell books in bulk, double your sales at signings, get more media and, make your book a business.

You’ll also receive templates to plan your launches and book tours, a sample press release and tips on where to promote your book events (for free!).

Presenter: Charmaine Hammond
Date: September 18, 2021
Time: 4:15 pm ET ♦ 1:15 pm PT ♦ 2:15 pm MT 3:15 pm CT |♦ 5:15 pm AT

Portals, Links & Energy Lines

What does it mean to listen to words? To find the entryway into and through a creative writing project? Join Catherine Graham as she discusses her creative journey through portals and openings to uncover the stories and poems that needed to be written.

Presenter: Catherine Graham
Date: Sunday, September 19, 2021
Time: 12:00 pm ET ♦ 9:00 am PT  10:00 am MT |♦ 11:00 am CT ♦ 1:00 pm AT

GOING LONG: How to Conceive, Research, and Organize Your Nonfiction Masterpiece

Are you bent on writing a nonfiction book? A memoir, a biography, a sweeping historical narrative? In this presentation, veteran author Ken McGoogan will point the way forward into the process.

What story are you telling? Why are you the right person to tell it? Why this book now? Is this a vertical project (tight focus, deep dive) or a horizontal one (controlling idea, numerous people)?  Do you have a work plan? Does your research include travel? Interviews? When exactly will you do what? What does your outline look like? Once you begin piling up pages, how do you avoid getting lost? Are you ready for this?

Presenter: Ken McGoogan
Date: Sunday, September 19, 2021
Time: 1:15 pm ET ♦ 10:15 am PT ♦ 11:15 am MT  12:15 pm CT 2:15 pm AT

7 Things I Learned About Publicity and Marketing While Promoting Seven

Authors are expected to self-promote, even if they have a publicist. Join novelist/poet Farzana Doctor to learn strategies to make social media, traditional media, events (virtual and in-person) and marketing work for you. She’ll also share thoughts on how to manage time, and how to strike a fine balance between sharing your work and building community.

This workshop is ideal for writers who are getting ready to raise their profile, release a book, reignite publicity for an older book, and points in between.

Presenter: Farzana Doctor
Date: Sunday, September 19, 2021
Time: 4:45 pm ET ♦ 1:45 pm PT  2:15 MT |♦ 3:15 CT ♦ 5:45 pm AT

Panels

There will be two panels—they are currently under development, but check back often!

Registration opens very soon.