As a registered charity and a national arts service organization, Canadian Authors is governed by a volunteer board of directors. Board members are elected by the membership at an Annual General Meeting for a period of two years.

Following our AGM in June 2017, our Board members are:


Margaret Hume National Chair
Matthew Bin Past National Chair
Scott Overton 2nd Vice-Chair, Regional Director, Ontario
Robert Mackay Secretary, Regional Director, British Columbia & Yukon
Kaarina Stiff Treasurer
Ronald Hore Regional Director, Manitoba & Saskatchewan
Arlene Smith Regional Director, Ontario
Les Magyar Director
Karen Gansel Director


The day-to-day operations of Canadian Authors are managed by our Executive Director, Anita Purcell. You can reach her at apurcell @ canadianauthors (dot) org.