Update on Canadian Authors Literary Awards

The CAA Awards for Fiction, Canadian History, and Poetry are on hiatus while the board of directors and its awards subcommittee continue to evaluate the role the association should play in honouring and showcasing writing that achieves excellence. This is particularly important in light of limited resources and the growing number of literary awards currently available. We are, however, open to suggestions as well as sponsorship offers that help defray the cost of the award process.


The Fred Kerner Book Award will remain active during this review period. (Note: Only CAA members are eligible for this particular award.) We also continue to help administer the Whister Independent Book Awards.

2020 Canadian Authors Fred Kerner Book Award

The Fred Kerner Book Award is awarded annually to a Canadian Authors member who has the best overall book published in the previous calendar year, including fiction, nonfiction, and poetry.

Fred Kerner was a devoted and longtime CAA member. An Honorary President of the association until his passing in 2011 at 90, Fred was an author, journalist, editor, teacher, and mentor. He wrote more than twelve books and also wrote for magazines, radio and TV, and he gave unstintingly of his time to assist emerging writers.


Prize: $400 and a one-year membership

Entry Fee: $30 per title entered

Deadline: March 1, 2020 

Please review the CAA 2020 Lit Awards Guidelines: Fred Kerner before submitting, and use the 2020 CAA Fred Kerner Book Award entry form to enter.


Questions? Contact Canadian Authors at admin(at)canadianauthors.org.



The 2020 Whistler Independent Book Awards

Canadian Authors has partnered with the Whistler Writing Society and Vivalogue Publishing to administer the Whistler Independent Book Awards, open to independently published authors across Canada and sponsored by The Writers Union of Canada.
The deadline for this year’s awards is April 30. Details and submission guidelines for the 2020 WIBAs are available at https://independentbookawards.ca/