Canadian Authors Association Literary Awards

The Canadian Authors Association Literary Awards Program was created in 1975 to honour writing that achieves excellence without sacrificing popular appeal.

Past award recipients have included Carol Shields, Hugh MacLennon, W. P. Kinsella, Robertson Davies, Margaret Atwood, Michael Ondaatje, and Leonard Cohen—and many other Canadian literary stars.

The Canadian Authors Association’s awards program complements the association’s ongoing tradition of writers helping writers.

Canadian Authors is currently evaluating its awards program to ensure that it adds value to Canada’s diverse literary community in a financially sustainable way. If you have ideas for us to consider, or wish to sponsor a literary award, please tell us! Send an email to