CAA Award for Fiction

Nino Ricci


(Toronto, Ontario), for Sleep (Doubleday Canada). Read more about Nino Ricci or purchase his book here.


CAA Award for Canadian History

Debra Komer

imgonline-com-ua-twotoone-kunsivkrgyns (Collingwood, Ontario), for The Bastard of Fort Stikine: The Hudson’s Bay Company and the Murder of John McLoughlin Jr. (Goose Lane Editions). Read the article “Debra Komer: How I Wrote The Bastard of Fort Stikine” here.


CAA Award for Poetry

Joe Denham


(Halfmoon Bay, British Columbia), for Regeneration Machine (Nightwood Editions). Read about the book, or purchase it here.


CAA Award for Emerging Writer

Kayla Czaga


(Vancouver, BC), nominated by Nightwood Editions. Her debut book For Your Safety Please Hold On was shortlisted and a winner of multiple awards. View her praise and purchase her book here.


Canadian Authors Fred Kerner Award

Caroline Vu

imgonline-com-ua-twotoone-d7sorvqofa6c(Montréal, QB), for Palawan Story (Deux Voiliers Publishing). Her book can be purchased here.