2012  Patrick deWitt, The Sisters Brothers

2011  Tom Rachman, The Imperfectionists

2010  Michael Crummey, Galore

2009  Nino Ricci, The Origin of Species

2008  Paulette Jiles, Stormy Weather

2007  Richard Wagamese, Dream Wheels

2006  Joseph Boyden, Three Day Road

2005  Jeffrey Moore, The Memory Artists

2004  Douglas Coupland, Hey Nostradamus!

2003  Rohinton Mistry, Family Matters

2002  Will Ferguson, Generica

2001  Elizabeth Hay, A Student of Weather

2000  Alistair MacLeod, No Great Mischief

1999  Wayne Johnston, The Colony of Unrequited Dreams

1998  Rita Donovan, Landed

1997  Ann-Marie MacDonald, Fall on Your Knees

1996  L.R. Wright, Mother Love

1995  Bernice Morgan, Waiting for Time

1994  Margaret Atwood, The Robber Bride

1993  Neil Bissoondath, The Innocence of Age

1992  Alberto Manguel, News from a Foreign Country Came

1991  David Adams Richards, Evening Snow Will Bring Such Peace

1990  James Houston, Running West

1989  Joan Clark, The Victory of Geraldine Gull

1988  Brian Moore, The Colour of Blood

1987  No award

1986  Robertson Davies, What’s Bred in the Bone

1985  Timothy Findley, Not Wanted on the Voyage

1984  Heather Robertson, Willie: A Romance

1983  W.P. Kinsella, Shoeless Joe

1982  Joy Kogawa, Obasan

1981  Hugh MacLennan, Voices in Time

1980  No award

1979  Marian Engel, The Glassy Sea

1978  Jane Rule, The Young in One Another’s Arms

1977  Carol Shields, Small Ceremonies

1976  No award

1975  Fred Stenson, Lonesome Hero


Canadian History

2012  Richard Gwyn, Nation Maker: Sir John A. MacDonald: His Life, Our Times

2011  Shelagh D. Grant, Polar Imperative: A History of Arctic Sovereignty in North America

2010  Jonathan F. Vance, A History of Canadian Culture

2009  J.M. Bumsted, Lord Selkirk: A Life

2008  Robert Wright, Three Nights in Havana

2007  Mark Zuehlke, For Honour’s Sake: the War of 1812 and the Brokering of an Uneasy Peace

2006  J.L. Granatstein, The Last Good War

2005  Charlotte Gray, The Museum Called Canada

2004  Ishmael Alunik, Eddie D. Kolausok and David Morrison Across Time and Tundra: The Inuvialuit of the Western Arctic

2003  Derek Hayes, Historical Atlas of Canada

2002  Ken McGoogan, Fatal Passage: The Untold Story of John Rae, the Arctic Adventurer Who Discovered the Fate of Franklin

2001  Will Ferguson, Canadian History for Dummies

2000  D’Arcy Jenish, Indian Fall (The Last Great Days of the Plains Cree and the Blackfoot Confederacy)

1999  Rod McQueen, The Eatons

1998  Dorothy Harley Eber, Images of Justice

1997  Phil Jenkins, An Acre of Time



2012  Goran Simiç, Sunrise in the Eyes of the Snowman

2011  Julia McCarthy, Return from Erebus

2010  Tom Dawe, Where Genesis Begins

2009  Elise Partridge, Chameleon Hours

2008  Asa Boxer, The Mechanical Bird

2007  Sarah Klassen, A Curious Beatitude

2006  Barry Dempster, The Burning Alphabet

2005  Peter Trower, Haunted Hills and Hanging Valleys

2004  Chris Banks, Bonfires

2003  Margaret Avison, Concrete and Wild Carrot

2002  Tim Bowling, Darkness and Silence

2001  Carmine Starnino, Credo

2000  Helen Humphreys, Anthem

1999  Janice Kulyk Keefer Marrying the Sea

1998  Anne Szumigalski, On Glassy Wings

1997  E.D. Blodgett, Apostrophes: woman at a piano

1996  Di Brand, Jerusalem, beloved

1995  Tim Lilburn, Moosehead Sandhills

1994  George Bowering, George Bowering Selected Poems

1993  Lorna Crozier, Inventing the Hawk

1992  Anne Michaels, Miner’s Pond

1991  Richard Lemm, Prelude to the Bacchanal

1990  Don Bailey, Homeless Heart

1989  Bruce Rice, Daniel

1988  Pat Lane, Selected Poems

1987  Al Purdy, The Collected Poems 1956–1986

1986  P.K. Page, The Glass Air

1985  Leonard Cohen, Book of Mercy

1984  Don McKay, Birding or Desire

1983  George Amabile, the presence of fire

1982  Gary Geddes, the acid test

1980  Michael Ondaatje, There’s a Trick with a Knife I’m Learning to Do: Poems, 1963–1978

1981  Leona Gom, Land of The Peace

1979  Andrew Suknaski, The Ghosts You Call Poor

1978  Alden Nowlan, Smoked Glass

1977  Sid Stephen, Beothuck Poems

1976  Jim Green, North Book

1975  Tom Wayman, For and Against the Moon


Emerging Writer

2012  Ryan Flavelle

2011  Titilope Sonuga

2010  Rachelle Delaney

2009  James Cummins

2008  Mark Haroun

2007  Annette Lapointe

2006  Souvankham Thammavongsa