June 13, 2014 –The Canadian Authors Association is pleased to announce the CanAuthors Literary Awards shortlists for 2014. Introduced in 1975, these awards continue the association’s long tradition of honouring Canadian writers who achieve excellence without sacrificing popular appeal. The 12 finalists were selected from almost 300 nominations.

The 2014 Canadian Authors Literary Awards shortlists are as follows:


CAA Award for Fiction

boyden_theorenda_pb …Kicking_The_Sky …The_Dark_HC
Joseph Boyden,
New Orleans, Louisiana, for The Orenda (Penguin Group Canada)

Anthony De Sa,
Toronto, Ontario, for Kicking the Sky (Doubleday Canada)

Claire Mulligan,
Victoria, British Columbia, for The Dark (Doubleday Canada)

Lela Common Award for Canadian History


massey-murder …BlackLoyalists h …OneDayInAugust_OKeefe-bkcvr

Charlotte Gray,
Ottawa, Ontario, for The Massey Murder (HarperCollins Canada)

Ruth Holmes Whitehead,
Halifax, Nova Scotia, for Black Loyalists: Southern Settlers of Nova Scotia’s First Free Black Communities (Nimbus Publishing)

David O’Keefe,
Vaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec, for One Day in August: The Untold Story Behind Canada’s Tragedy at Dieppe (Knopf Canada)

CAA Award for Poetry

Catherine Graham book cover 14 …book cover children of air india …WAYMAN-Winters Skin-COVER-300dpi
Catherine Graham,
Toronto, Ontario, for Her Red Hair Rises with the Wings of Insects (Wolsak and Wynn Publishers)

Reneé Sarojini Saklikar,
New Westminster, British Columbia, for children of air india (Nightwood Editions)

Tom Wayman,
Winlaw, British Columbia, for Winter’s Skin (Oolichan Books)

CAA Emerging Writer Award

ForTodayIAmABoy …The Dilettantes cover …GraceOConnell_MagnifiedWorld_Cover
Kim Fu,
Seattle, Washington, For Today I Am a Boy (HarperCollins Canada)

Michael Hingston,
Edmonton, Alberta, The Dilettantes (Freehand Books)

Grace O’Connell,
Toronto, Ontario, Magnified World (Knopf Canada)

The shortlisted authors have been invited to participate in evening readings on Friday, June 20, at the Lakehead University Orillia Campus. Free and open to the public, these readings are part of the Canadian Authors’ CanWrite! 2014 conference.

The final winners for each category will be announced the following evening, June 21, at the Canadian Authors Literary Awards Banquet & Gala at the Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre, a highlight of this year’s CanWrite! conference.

Also open to the public, the Banquet & Gala will feature Susan McClelland and Mariatu Kamara (The Bite of the Mango; Annick Press) as special guest speakers, and Terry Fallis (No Relation, Up and Down, The High Road, The Best Laid Plans) as Master of Ceremony.

A limited number of tickets for the dinner and awards banquet are available ($60 or two for $100). A portion of all ticket sales will go to Beautiful World, an organization that sponsors students, specifically girls, by providing them with scholarships through secondary school education. These donations profoundly impact lives by funding, supporting and encouraging education for children in the developing world.

To purchase tickets and RSVP, contact Courtney at 1 888 216 6222 or admin@canadianauthors.org.

The Canadian Authors Association gratefully acknowledges the following sponsors and supporters of the association and its 2013 Literary Awards Program:


Ontario Trillium Foundation


Ontario Arts Council


Lakehead University

The Lakehead Orillia Centre

A Gathering Place for Arts, Culture and Community



Manticore Books


Piquant Productions

Estate of

Lela Florence Common