2019 National Capital Writing Contest (NCWC)

32nd Annual National Capital Writing Contest (NCWC)

Sponsored by the Canadian Authors Association–National Capital Region

Short Story • Poetry

$300 First Place • $200 Second Place • $100 Third Place

Open to residents of Ontario and Quebec.

Deadline: 11:59 PM/23h59 EST Friday, February 8, 2019

Submissions may be sent via regular mail or submitted online.

Short Story: Maximum 2,500 words, unpublished, in English.
Poetry: Maximum 60 lines including title and blank lines, unpublished, in English. No Haiku.

Name or other identifiers must not appear anywhere on the story or poem as entries will be blind judged. Judges’ decisions are final. No entries will be returned. For multiple entries, each must be accompanied by its entry fee and separate cover with name and contact information.

The six finalists in each category will be notified by email.

We hope that finalists and their friends and families will attend the Awards Night, Tuesday, May 14, 2019, 7:oo p.m. in the AUDITORIUM of the MAIN BRANCH, OTTAWA PUBLIC LIBRARY, 120 Metcalfe Street. Finalists will be invited to read an excerpt from their work.

Entry Fees: Short Story: $15 per single story; Poetry: $5 per single poem.

Electronic Entries

Send entries individually to ncwc-ncr@canadianauthors.org

Subject Line: 2019 Short Story Contest, or 2019 Poetry Contest, whichever is appropriate

Include in the body of email:

  • name
  • postal address
  • email address
  • phone number(s)
  • title of entry
  • word count

Name or other identifiers must not appear anywhere on the story or poem as entries will be blind judged. Attach to the email a single short story or a single poem as a Word (.doc).

For short stories: 12 point Times New Roman, double spaced, 1.25 cm/1/2” paragraph indent.
For poems, 12 point Times Roman.

Mailed Entries

Name or other identifiers must not appear anywhere on the story or poem as entries will be blind judged.Include a separate cover page with name, postal address, e-mail address, telephone number(s), the title of your entry and the word count.

For short stories: 12 point Times Roman, double spaced, 1.25 cm/1/2” paragraph indent.
For poems, 12 point Times Roman.

Mail to:
CAA National Capital Writing Contest
163 Bell St., N., Box 57081
Ottawa ON K1R 7E1
Attention: Sherrill Wark


E-transfer using the email address is NCRadmin@canadianauthors.org (NOTE: the submission and the payment go to different email addresses.)

Cheque payable to Canadian Authors Association – NCR

PayPal Choose the category and amount and category from the drop-down menu.

Choose a category
CAA – Writers Helping Writers

2018 NCWC Results

Short Story

First Place: Ingrid Betz, for Leaving is Just a Suitcase Away
Second Place: Adrienne Stevenson for Rules of the Road 
Third Place: Sonia Tilson for Wild Strawberry Jam

Honourable mentions: 

Anne-Marie Beattie for The Reservoir Man
Adam Heenan for The Tent Man 
Anna Rumin for Gently into the Night
Jeff Shiau for Coffee or Tea


First Place: Joan McKay for “A Memory of Light”
Second Place: Marianne Jones for “Child of the 50’s”
Third Place: Gill Foss for “Beyond HRV”

Honourable mentions:

Gill Foss for “A Change of Pace”
Gill Foss for “Ode to Invisible Sounds”
Ian Prattis for “The Seasons”

2017 NCWC Results


First Place:  “Gunda” by Ruth Latta

Second Place: “Anne from Toronto” by Ruth Latta

Third Place: “Sunset (for Gwen)” by Gill Foss

Honourable Mentions:

“Too Long a Winter” by Lee Ann Smith
“Relay” by Lee Ann Smith
“A Small Grief” by Bev Chambers


First Place: “The Flower Seller of Agra” Shiela Jane

Second Place: “California Pure” Elle Wild

Third Place: “Extra Innings” Jeff Shiau

Honourable Mentions:

“Unexpected” by Barbara Wackerle Baker
“Night Swim” by Di Golding
“Distant Connections” by Julio Heleno Gomes


CAA Fred Kerner Book Award

Ahmad Danny Ramadan
Ahmad Danny Ramadan is a Syrian-Canadian author, public speaker, storyteller and an LGBTQ-refugee activist. His debut novel, The Clothesline Swing, won Independent Publisher Book Award for Gay/Lesbian/Bi/Trans Fiction, was named among the Best Books of 2017 by the Globe and Mail and Toronto Star. It was longlisted for Canada Reads 2018 and shortlisted for the Evergreen Award 2018.

About the Award
The Fred Kerner Book Award is awarded annually to a Canadian Authors member who has the best overall book published in the previous calendar year.
Fred Kerner was a devoted and longtime CAA member. An Honorary President of the association until his passing in 2011 at 90, Fred was an author, journalist, editor, teacher, and mentor. He wrote more than twelve books and also wrote for magazines, radio and TV, and he gave unstintingly of his time to assist emerging writers.