Canadian Authors Association – National Capital Region Branch (CAA-NCR)

Serving Ottawa and the surrounding area

Peace Tower, Parliament Hill in Ottawa, Canada

Peace Tower, Parliament Hill in Ottawa, Canada

Whether you are a published author or an emerging writer—or maybe you just want to take a stab at discovering your hidden writing talent—you’ve come to the right place.

Writers Helping Writers

The Canadian Authors Association (CAA) is a national organization with a local presence dedicated to promoting a flourishing community of writers across Canada and to encouraging works of literary and artistic merit. We do this by:

  • providing information and support to writers
  • providing opportunities for professional development
  • promoting the fair and equitable treatment of writers
  • working in partnership with other relevant organizations
  • increasing public awareness of Canada’s writing and publishing environment

Our National Capital Region Branch gives you access to the benefits, resources and networking opportunities of CAA at the national level and the initiatives and programs at the branch level.

Canadian Authors Association is a not-for-profit association with charitable status. [A National Arts Service Organization,Charitable Business Number 10684 3055 RR0001]

Find us on Facebook

Watch our Facebook group page for updates on meetings, workshops, author activities and other news of interest to writers.

Canadian Authors Association – NCR on Facebook

Join Us

When you’ve had a look around, why not join us?


We welcome any volunteer time you have to offer during your membership. Fifteen minutes a month can make a HUGE difference for us! Find out more about volunteer opportunities here.

Health & Dental Benefits for Writers

One of the many benefits of membership includes access to the Writers’ Coalition Health & Dental program.


Hosting provided bylogo

NCWC Winners

Winners were announced on Monday, May 9, 2016 in a ceremony at the Main Branch of the Ottawa Public Library.


FIRST: “Green Shift” by Gill Foss
SECOND: “High School Reunion” by Sylvia Adams
THIRD: “Feeding the Flowers” by Helen Gamble
“Christmas Baking” by Lee Ann Eckhardt Smith
"A Piece of Scotch Plaid” by Gerry Mooney
“Preparing for Winter” by Gerry Mooney


FIRST: “What the Chipmunk Is Thinking” by Lynn Jatania
SECOND: “The Step-Mother's Story: We Never Called Her Cinderella” by Tony Bove
THIRD: “Leveller” by Adrienne Stevenson
“Benny and Margot Forever” by Adam Heenan
“Mask Island” by Josephine Bolechala
“A Stone in the Temple” by Arlene Somerton Smith

A Proud History

* CAA was founded to lobby for the protection of authors’ rights and was instrumental in the 1924 copyright legislation.
* Stephen Leacock was one of those founding members.
* CAA founded the Governor General’s Literary Awards.
* CAA originated the first standard book contract to protect authors’ rights in negotiations with publishers.
* CAA participates in the national organizations that ensure Canadian writers retain rights to their intellectual property and are paid for the use of their works. These organizations include Access Copyright, the Book and Periodical Council, the Canadian Copyright Institute, and the Public Lending Right Commission.
* CAA helped create The Canadian Writers’ Foundation to provide financial assistance to indigent authors and their families.