The Whistler 2019 Independent Book Awards

Finalists for the 2019 Whistler Independent Book Awards announced

Canadian Authors and Vivalogue Publishing have reviewed the shortlisted titles for this year’s awards and are happy to announce the six finalists for the 2019 WIBA. Winning entries will be announced at the Literary Cabaret event held as part of the Whistler Writers Festival which takes place October 17 – 20, 2019.

The fiction finalists are:

Edythe Anstey Hanen for Nine Birds Singing
Ann Shortell for Celtic Knot: A Clara Swift Tale
Diana Stevan for Sunflowers under Fire

The non-fiction finalists are:

Bill Arnott for Gone Viking: A Travel Saga
Tina Martel for Not in the Pink
Manuel Matas for The Borders of Normal

The Whistler 2018 Independent Book Awards

2018 Winners

The winners of the 2018 Whistler Independent Book Awards were announced on Friday, October 15 at the 17th annual Whistler Writers Festival. Laurel Deedrick-Mayne was named the winner of the fiction award for A Wake for the Dreamland. Named the best non-fiction book was That Lucky Old Son by Mark Cote. The Whistler Independent Book Awards are the only juried awards for self-publishing in Canada, with each nominee being individually assessed by judges from the Canadian Authors Association (Metro Vancouver), and the finalists selected by a distinguished team of judges.

A Wake for the Dreamland is a novel filled with longing, for lost love, for forbidden love and for an innocence lost to the Second World War. Laurel Deedrick-Mayne tenderly evokes the era with rich detail and believable dialogue, bringing history to life in this well-researched novel,” said Gail Anderson-Dargatz, one of the finalist fiction judges. JJ Lee, a finalist non-fiction judge described That Lucky Old Son, “written with verve and just the right amount of lingo to convey the professionalism, precision, and guts it took to do the job.” Sue Oakey Baker of the Whistler Writing Society said, “This is a story rich in history that bravely unveils the desire of a son to find his father.”

Established in 2016 to recognize excellence in Canadian self-publishing, the Whistler Independent Book Awards offers prizes in two categories: fiction and non-fiction. Jointly administered by the Whistler Writing Society and Vivalogue Publishing, the Whistler Independent Book Awards (WIBAs) provide independent authors with a unique opportunity to have their work recognized through a juried process typically reserved for trade-published titles.

Entries for the 2019 WIBAs will open in March 2019. Canadian authors interested in participating should contact Vivalogue Publishing. More information about the Whistler Independent Book Awards can be found here.


A Wake for the Dreamland

A Wake for the Dreamland by Laurel Deedrick-Mayne

That Lucky Old Son

That Lucky Old Son by Mark Cote










Finalists announced for 2018 Whistler Independent Book Awards

 Monday, July 16, 2018

Our congratulations to the authors who have been selected as finalists for the 2018 Whistler Independent Book Awards.

The fiction finalists are:

T.G. Brown for Harvest (A Josh Ingram Novel)
Laurel Deedrick-Mayne for A Wake for the Dreamland
Emma L.R. Hogg for Winona Rising
Mike Sadava for The Project

The non-fiction finalists are:

Mark Cote for That Lucky Old Son
Louise Szabo, Barbara Brown, Jan Jacobson & Wendy Quarry for
Travel Dreams and Nightmares – Four Women Explore the World 
Toko-pa Turner for Belonging: Remembering Ourselves Home

The winner in each category will be jointly selected by two judges, both accomplished authors. Judging the fiction category are Gail Anderson-Dargatz and Darcie Friesen Hossack. The non-fiction selection will be made by J.J. Lee and Susan Oakey-Baker. 

Finalists were selected by representatives of  Vivalogue Author Services and members of the Canadian Authors Association (Metro Vancouver)

The judges were impressed with both the quality and variety of submissions received from across the country. Particularly stiff competition in the fiction category led to the nomination of four titles, a first for the awards.

Winners will be announced at the 17th Whistler Writers Festival, 11-14 October.


Whistler Independent Book Awards 2018 Shortlist

Fiction nominees:

T.G. Brown for Harvest 
Norm Cuddy for Return of the Jaguar
Laurel Deedrick-Mayne for A Wake for the Dreamland
Jane Doucet for The Pregnant Pause 
Barry Grills for Roadkill
Emma L.R. Hogg for Winona Rising
Andrew Lafleche for A Pardonable Offence
Mike Sadava for The Project

Non-fiction nominees:

Rod Baker for Constant Traveller R801168
Mark Cote for That Lucky Old Son
Patricia Hetherington for Under the Covers
Andrew Lafleche for No Diplomacy
Louise Szabo, Barbara Brown, Jan Jacobson & Wendy Quarry for
Travel Dreams and Nightmares
Toko-pa Turner for Belonging: Remembering Ourselves Home




Visit National Site

News & Events

CA–Metro Vancouver News & Events

Whistler Independent Book Awards finalists announced.


FALL SEASON OPEN MIC: Wed Sep 11 from 7 – 9 pm. All are welcome. On-line pre-registration will be required, first come, first served. Online registration open here.

Save the date. Sept 29 at WORD Vancouver,  Canadian Authors presents a talk by Jonas Saul. Visit our table and learn more about what we do.

Featuring Vancouver Noir mystery writer Sam Wiebe on Wed Oct 9 and writer-editor Christina Myers at 7 p.m. on Wed Nov 13.

Our Annual General Meeting and winter social is scheduled for Mon Dec 2 at the Old Spaghetti Factory in New Westminster.

CA–Victoria News & Events


Fri Sep 6 from 5 to 7 pm: Writers Meet and Greet

Tue Oct 15 from 7 to 9 pm SPOTLIGHT Prose Open Mic, featuring Alfred Cool and Margaret Gracie

Tue Nov 19 from 7 to 9 pm SPOTLIGHT Prose Open Mic, featuring Laurel Deedrick-Mayne and Wallace George du Temple



Historic Joy Kogawa House, the home from which author Joy Kogawa’s family was displaced in 1942, is run by a not-for-profit organization. The house now serves as a cultural and heritage centre, a site of healing and reconciliation, and a place for author residencies.