WIBA 2019 Finalists Announced

Canadian Authors and Vivalogue Publishing have reviewed the shortlisted titles for this year’s awards and are happy to announce the six finalists for the 2019 WIBAs.


The fiction finalists are:

Edythe Anstey Hanen for Nine Birds Singing
Ann Shortell for Celtic Knot: A Clara Swift Tale WINNER!
Diana Stevan for Sunflowers under Fire


The nonfiction nominees are:

Bill Arnott for Gone Viking: A Travel Saga
Tina Martel for Not in the Pink WINNER!
Manuel Matas for The Borders of Normal


The fiction finalists were judged by Evelyn Lau and Darcie Friesen Hossack. The nonfiction finalists were judged by J.J. Lee and Susan Oakey Baker. The winners will be announced at the Whistler Writers Festivals Literary Cabaret on Friday, October 18, 2019.

The Whistler Independent Book Awards provide independently published authors with a unique opportunity to have their work recognized through a juried process.

Non-shortlisted titles were assessed and reviewed by Canadian Authors Association reviewers, so that every participating author receives valuable, professional feedback on their submission.


About the Awards

Canadian Authors has partnered with the Whistler Writing Society and Vivalogue Publishing to support independent writers across Canada through this unique award.

Established in 2016 to recognize excellence in Canadian independent publishing, the Whistler Independent Book Awards offers prizes in two categories: fiction and nonfiction. There are three finalists in each category (fiction and nonfiction), with the winners being announced at the annual Whistler Writers Festival.

Jointly administered by the Whistler Writing Society, Canadian Authors and Vivalogue Publishing, the Whistler Independent Book Awards (WIBAs) provide independent authors with a unique opportunity to have their work recognized through a juried process typically reserved for trade-published titles.

In supporting independent authors, this competition is unique in that each and every entry receives a valuable, constructive critique of their submission, which can be quoted for publicity and promotional purposes.


Who Is Eligible?

  • Authors must be either Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada
  • The author must have paid costs associated with the production of the book
  • All entries must be available for purchase in physical form (ebook-only publications not eligible)
  • The book must be copyrighted within the last six years


What Was the Deadline?

April 30, 2019


Find out more at https://independentbookawards.ca/