Elizabeth McLean wins Canadian Authors–Metro Vancouver 2017 Story Contest

VANCOUVER – Elizabeth McLean, a member of Canadian Authors–Metro Vancouver, placed first over eight shortlisted writers from across Canada for her story Guests Coming…

Judge’s comment: “Guests Coming… by Elizabeth McLean showed us a free spirit in full flight, a daring and challenging piece.”

Susan Burns Yao from Delta, BC placed second for her story The Last Opera, and Matthew Bin, a Canadian Authors member from Oakville, ON placed third for Reception.

Cash prizes are: First $300, Second $200, and Third $100. In addition, the winning works will be published in the National Voices 2018 Anthology, published biennially by Canadian Authors–Metro Vancouver. The winners receive a complimentary copy of the anthology and have the opportunity to read their stories at the branch’s Annual General Meeting and social in December. Winning stories will be posted for one year on our website.About Canadian Authors

About Canadian Authors: Writers helping writers since 1921 is more than our motto.

Canadian Authors–Metro Vancouver belongs to a national organization dedicated to promoting a flourishing community of writers and to encouraging works of literary and artistic merit. We offer resources and opportunities to aspiring, emerging, and professional writers who are keen to hone their writing and business skills, network with others, and thrive in a community of like-minded professionals.

– 30 –

Canadian Authors–Metro Vancouver Branch Contact: Kathleen Schmitt, President


2017 Story Contest Shortlist:

Sally Basmajian, Niagara-on-the Lake, ON – Latin Dancing

Matthew Bin, Oakville, ON – Reception

Susan Burns Yao, Delta, BC – The Last Opera

Roxanne Davies, North Vancouver, BC – A Day in August

Edythe Hanen, Bowen Island, BC – The Paper Route

Neil McKinnon, Langley, BC – A Birthday Present for Canada

Elizabeth McLean, Vancouver, BC – Guests Coming…

Susan Pieters, Burnaby, BC- How to Speak for the Dead


Visit National Site

News & Events

Next Event - Wed Feb 14 from 7 to 9 pm Betsy Warland: Experimenting with the potentials of Creative Non-Fiction


Next Event - Prose Open Mic - Tue Feb 20, 2018 Featured readers are Steve Szalai and Liz Walker