Winners announced for the 2018 National Capital Writing Contest

May 8, 2018 – Ottawa – The National Capital Region Branch of the Canadian Authors Association is pleased to announce the winners of the 31st Annual National Capital Writing Contest. Finalists in the short story and poetry categories received their awards at a ceremony at the Main Branch of the Ottawa Public Library.

Ingrid Betz, of London, Ontario placed first in the short story category for Leaving is Just a Suitcase Away, described by the judge as a “well-crafted story about hope and the surprises life brings.” Adrienne Stevenson of Ottawa took second place for Rules of the Road, and Sonia Tilson, also of Ottawa, placed third for Wild Strawberry Jam. Honourable mentions went to Anne-Marie Beattie, Adam Heenan, Anna Rumin, and Jeff Shiau.

Joan McKay of Kingston, Ontario placed first in poetry for “A Memory of Light,” about which the judge wrote, “An excellent poem both in the use of understatement and through powerful underlying imagery.” Marianne Jones of Thunder Bay, Ontario placed second for “Child of the 50’s,” and Gill Foss of Carp, Ontario placed third for her poem “Beyond HRV.” Gill also received honourable mentions for two other poems, and Ian Prattis of Ottawa received honourable mention as well.

The judge for poetry was Carol A. Stephen and R.J. Harlick judged the short story category.

2018 NCWC Results

Short Story

First Place: Ingrid Betz, for Leaving is Just a Suitcase Away
Second Place: Adrienne Stevenson for Rules of the Road
Third Place: Sonia Tilson for Wild Strawberry Jam

Honourable mentions: 

Anne-Marie Beattie for The Reservoir Man
Adam Heenan for The Tent Man
Anna Rumin for Gently into the Night
Jeff Shiau for Coffee or Tea


First Place: Joan McKay for “A Memory of Light”
Second Place: Marianne Jones for “Child of the 50’s”
Third Place: Gill Foss for “Beyond HRV”

Honourable mentions:

Gill Foss for “A Change of Pace”
Gill Foss for “Ode to Invisible Sounds”
Ian Prattis for “The Seasons”

CAA Fred Kerner Book Award

Ahmad Danny Ramadan
Ahmad Danny Ramadan is a Syrian-Canadian author, public speaker, storyteller and an LGBTQ-refugee activist. His debut novel, The Clothesline Swing, won Independent Publisher Book Award for Gay/Lesbian/Bi/Trans Fiction, was named among the Best Books of 2017 by the Globe and Mail and Toronto Star. It was longlisted for Canada Reads 2018 and shortlisted for the Evergreen Award 2018.

About the Award
The Fred Kerner Book Award is awarded annually to a Canadian Authors member who has the best overall book published in the previous calendar year.
Fred Kerner was a devoted and longtime CAA member. An Honorary President of the association until his passing in 2011 at 90, Fred was an author, journalist, editor, teacher, and mentor. He wrote more than twelve books and also wrote for magazines, radio and TV, and he gave unstintingly of his time to assist emerging writers.