CAA Award for Fiction

The last hiccup
Christopher Meades w

Winner 2013

Christopher Meades

lives in Vancouver, BC. In 2009, his short story “The Walking Lady” won the Advisor’s Prize in Fiction from the Toyon print journal. Christopher also won a 2008 fiction contest staged by the Vancouver Province and his “Serial Thriller” winning entry appeared in the newspaper.
The Three Fates of Henrik Nordmark began as a submission to the 2007 International 3-Day Novel Contest, for which it was shortlisted as a finalist. Find him online at

Judges’ Comments: The Last Hiccup is an episodic novel reminiscent of Chaucer’s Tales or the Decameron. At the heart of the story is a hiccup, or more specifically, a boy with the hiccups… This surrealistic novel takes us through the misadventures of Vladimir and along the way the reader gets a good look at society’s foibles. The writing is exquisite, the language poetic and fresh. Although the story takes place in 1930s Russia, it feels very relevant to our times.

Contact Information
For interviews or information about Christopher Meades, contact Jenna Illies, ECW Press

T 416 694 3348
E jenna at




Tricia Dower 

Tricia Dower

Tricia Dower of Brentwood Bay, BC, was a business executive before reinventing herself as a writer in 2002. Stony River is her debut novel. Her short-story collection, Silent Girl (Inanna, 2008), was long-listed for two awards, and she won first prize for fiction in a 2010 Malahat Review competition.
Judges’ Comments: Dower creates three very distinct female leads in this novel, and each one could carry a book on their own. Instead, Dower introduces the initial question of the book, through Miranda, then eases the reader through years of each girls’ life, and the paths they choose along the way. She makes the mid-1950s come alive and, while giving us the standard view of America at that time, she also lifts up the veil and shows us the dark places.

Contact Information
For interviews or information about Tricia Dower, contact Laura Meyer, Penguin Canada

T 416 928 2405
E laura.meyer at

Lam, Vincent -- credit Barbara Stoneham w 

Vincent Lam

is from the expatriate Chinese community of Vietnam, and was born in Canada. Dr. Lam did his medical training and is an emergency physician in Toronto. He is a Lecturer with the Department of Family and Community Medicine at the University of Toronto. He has also worked in international air evacuation and expedition medicine on Arctic and Antarctic ships. Dr. Lam’s first book, Bloodletting and Miraculous Cures, won the 2006 Scotiabank Giller Prize, and has recently been adapted for television and broadcast on HBO Canada.
Judges’ Comments: A beautifully written and well-crafted story recreating forty years of Asian history, beginning with the Japanese invasion and ending with the freeing of a war-torn Vietnam. The plot is tightly woven and full of suspense with page-turning revelations; the characters are complex and intriguingly flawed… an intimate and moving portrait of a family nearly destroyed by a combination of historical events and human failings.

Contact Information
For interviews or information about Dr. Lam, contact Adria Iwasutiak, Doubleday Canada

T 416 957 1569
E aiwasutiak at


About This Award

The CAA Award for Fiction was funded by Harlequin Enterprises of Toronto from 1975 through 1997. Chapters became a sponsor in 1998, followed by a 10-year sponsorship by Ottawa-based MOSAID Technologies Inc. Since 2011, Canadian Authors has been administering this award without a sponsor.
Entries must be full-length English language literature for adults by Canadian authors. Reprints or translations are not eligible. Winners receive $2000 and a silver medal.
The deadline for entries is December 15.

Past Winners

1975 Fred Stenson, Lonesome Hero
1976 No award
1977 Carol Shields, Small Ceremonies
1978 Jane Rule, The Young in One Another’s Arms
1979 Marian Engel, The Glassy Sea
1980 No award
1981 Hugh MacLennan, Voices in Time
1982 Joy Kogawa, Obasan
1983 W.P. Kinsella, Shoeless Joe
1984 Heather Robertson, Willie: A Romance
1985 Timothy Findley, Not Wanted on the Voyage
1986 Robertson Davies, What’s Bred in the Bone
1987 No award
1988 Brian Moore, The Colour of Blood
1989 Joan Clark, The Victory of Geraldine Gull
1990 James Houston, Running West
1991 David Adams Richards, Evening Snow Will Bring Such Peace
1992 Alberto Manguel, News from a Foreign Country Came
1993 Neil Bissoondath, The Innocence of Age
1994 Margaret Atwood, The Robber Bride
1995 Bernice Morgan, Waiting for Time
1996 L.R. Wright, Mother Love
1997 Ann-Marie MacDonald, Fall on Your Knees
1998 Rita Donovan, Landed
1999 Wayne Johnston, The Colony of Unrequited Dreams
2000 Alistair MacLeod, No Great Mischief
2001 Elizabeth Hay, A Student of Weather
2002 Will Ferguson, Generica
2003 Rohinton Mistry, Family Matters
2004 Douglas Coupland, Hey Nostradamus!
2005 Jeffrey Moore, The Memory Artists
2006 Joseph Boyden, Three Day Road
2007 Richard Wagamese, Dream Wheels
2008 Paulette Jiles, Stormy Weather
2009 Nino Ricci, The Origin of Species
2010 Michael Crummey, Galore
2011 Tom Rachman, The Imperfectionist
2012 Patrick deWitt, The Sisters Brothers

Member LOGIN boxed resize 260

Visit National Site BUTTON 260